语言
需要信息:
VFS Global, Partnering Governments. Providing Solutions.
Partnering Governments. Providing Solutions.

活动与项目管理

为业务提供助力的关键部门之一的拥有专业管理的计划和项目管理办公室(PPMO)。PPMO具有项目执行和控制能力,采用全球认可的项目管理实务和方法,包括项目的启动、规划、执行、监督和控制、及收尾。PPMO利用这些能力在VFS Global的业务蓝图中顺利完成项目和任务。PPMO团队由高技能、高专业素质、经验丰富的专业人士组成,他们负责的各类活动超出了项目执行谱范畴,延伸到了以下方面:

  • 映射客户要求
  • 通过业务流程分析参与解决方案的确定和编制
  • 确定方便申请人、领事馆和VFS Global工作人员的合适地点设立签证申请中心,同时确保遵守当地的法律,尊重当地的文化
  • 在现场对应用程序进行全面的测试,并部署的解决方案
  • 确定合适的供应商和解决方案合作伙伴,为持续的业务运营提供支持
  • 在第一次采用任何新解决方案时,为用户提供培训,在有限的时期内掌控业务运营,直到进入正常运营状态
  • 对质量参数进行全面维护


(请点击此处获取更多相关资料)

项目管理办公室(PMO)的工作规模

 

这些人员经验丰富又足智多谋,从为单一业务设立办事处至为新的客户政府推出业务,他们实施了各种项目,足迹遍布多个地区,有时,计划中就包含了超过40个站点。此外,这一团队在推出新业务和组建新办事处方面拥有丰富的经验,他们横跨广袤的地域,一路从拉丁美洲的玻利维亚到东南亚的菲律宾,到处可见他们的身影。

秉承奋发进取的精神,在过去的五年内,项目团队在约40个国家推出了300家以上办事处,处理了20多个主要的解决方案和软件应用程序,而且多数涉及复杂的商业环境和地域,在此期间,他们积累了相当于约110人年(或1320人月)的经验。

其中一些项目仅仅用了四周就已成功交付,而一些规模较大的计划和投入,由于解决方案和交付的复杂性,耗费的时间超过了18个月。

 

结构性 – PMO的管理部门

 

有了PMP和Prince 2这类认证对他们从项目执行中获得的技能和专业知识的支持,PMO人员不仅善于将理论转化为实践,以成功地实施项目,还设法不断地利用组织的知识库。PMO高度结构化,因此,VFS Global可实现使用知识和专业技能的最佳利用。PMO的主要管理层集中在印度,负责监控和管理所有项目活动,包括围绕进度表、成本、范围、质量和资源的标准计量。

项目采用一个共用的资源库以分散的方式执行,确保了工程的快速完工,然而得益于指导方针和方法的集中管理,工程质量非常统一。由于往往是使用同一批资源在多个地区执行任务,因此,在一个地区的项目执行过程中得到的智慧和经验可以成功地无缝转移到其他地区。这就缩短了学习曲线。PMO还采用Microsoft Office Project 2007或此软件的更高版本、企业范围内的EPM(企业项目管理软件)工具、Visio和其他Microsoft Office产品作为辅助工具。

PMO团队管理的所有新项目均进过精心策划,项目可分为五个主要阶段:

  • 项目启动 – 通常会生成项目启功文件(PID)。此阶段又可细分成若干阶段,进一步详细说明要求、规范和业务/运营流程分析。
  • 项目规划 – 典型输出为可与外部客户共享的Microsoft项目计划(MPP)以及在用于VFS Global内部消耗的EPM基础设施上运行的EPM仪表板。
  • 执行 – 使用项目计划指导项目的实施,此项目计划非常灵活,足以包容任何变更。同时,通过EMP按日按周跟踪项目进度。项目人员可能会集中多个团队来交付特殊任务。
  • 项目监控与管理 – 由与内部利益相关者保持密切接触的牵头项目经理,在前述工具的协助下,负责进行监督。牵头者有时还要发布项目状态,并与客户进行互动。
  • 项目收尾 – 通常在项目成功启用之日的15天后完成以照常运营(BAU)状态移交项目。在此项目阶段中,PMO承担全部运营责任,还要负责培训新的运营人员,让他们学会如何提供服务。撤出后,以过渡意见(VOT)格式和使馆意见(VOM)表收集正式的反馈意见,用以改善PMO的服务。此外,移交项目还包括了支持联系渠道、支持升级图表、作业程序技巧、培训手册等相关文件

PMO团队运营有两个“部门”,这两个部门根据项目实施期间所需的专业知识进行组建。

计划和项目管理部门

 

“全球项目管理部门”通过组织项目数据、向所有利益相关者(内部和外部)提供统计资料、控制预算和时间表,及确保遵守VFS Global的政策和程序,向项目经理(执行团队)及团队提供协助。团队的这一小组负责管理项目的启动、规划和监控,及控制所有新项目的各个阶段,是MPP和EPM工具最大最重要的用户。这一小组的另一部分负责网站部署的协调,包括首次的内容管理。内容和网站地图由团队负责编制,再将内容和网站地图交由客户和内部利益相关者批准,最后送交VFS Global企业传讯团队用于网站开发。整个活动过程均由此小组负责管理。

此小组的第三部分由精于流程设计和要求拟定的业务流程分析师组成。这些专业人士不仅提供了深入的应用程序和业务流程功能知识,还能将要求转化为可供IT团队用于开发应用程序的功能规范。这一团队还利用跨职能流程设计和MS Visio等工具,采用流程图技术将给定过程的各种流程和情境制成图表。由于这支团队在项目初期阶段就参与了解决方案开发活动,考虑到其功能知识,团队还负责在向UAT交付之前对已开发解决方案实施测试活动。在综合测试之外,测试内容还包括功能尺寸,有时可以加入GUI(图形用户界面)测试。但信息安全测试和性能及负载测试不在此团队的责任范围内。

 

项目执行部门

 

这一部门由经验丰富的项目经理组成,他们可能会前往现场实施各种解决方案,包括设立办事处、招募和培训人员、进行采购。有时,项目执行小组可能不会向现场派送自身的资源会,反而就地利用给定区域内的资深运营人员。由这些运营人员执行项目,负责所有物理交付件,而所有的指导、监控和管理由项目执行部门负责。因而,除了跨越多个时区的人员和来自IT、信息服务、财务、人力资源等助力部门的同事,小组还可利用庞大的资源库。

此部门保持对项目的整体控制,负责通过定期的状态简报更新内部和外部利益相关者,并与其他PMO部门进行协调,对项目进行360度的审视。此外,该团队还广泛使用MPP和EPM管理其项目组合。

VFS Global客户享有的项目管理服务的优势

 

  • PMO通过为客户推出的项目(服务 / 解决方案)不断地加强公司的业务能力。因此,PMO为组织建立了知识库和知识产权,用于以连续的方式快速向客户提供卓越的解决方案。客户可在项目实施期间体验这种高品质,这从客户提供的见证和反馈中可见一斑。
  • 凭借为提供更佳的解决方案而不断经历考验的专业知识, PMO能够分析分析不同的业务流程,并通过把握优化机会和努力寻求高效率为客户提供价值。
  • 在有些新区域,PMO会接管确定和筛选新供应商和第三方配置的工作,好让运营团队腾出精力和时间把重点放在服务的提供上。
  • 凭借其结构和利用资源库的能力,PMO能够同时从横向和纵向进行扩展,从而实现对跨时区的复杂任务的管理。
  • 定期提供按照客户要求定制的项目执行情况报告和仪表板;这一切都得益于团队带来的严格作风!
客户见证

大使馆负责人Tomislav Bosnjak先生
克罗地亚共和国大使


Padma Ganesh
印度政府的副国务卿

 

最新新闻

捷克共和国在斋普尔开办签证中心
The Times of India, 2017年3月

新合作签证申请中心在印度普纳开设
Business Standard,2017年2月


認證

Select Language
Need information on visas/permits?
VFS Global, Partnering Governments. Providing Solutions.
Partnering Governments. Providing Solutions.

Programme & Project Management

One of the key business enabling function is the professionally managed Programme and Project Management (PPM).  PPM possesses skills of project execution and control, employing a globally recognised project management practices and methodologies − including initiation, planning, execution, monitoring and control and closure. PPM utilises these skills in successfully delivering projects and assignments across VFS Global Group’s (hereinafter referred to as VFS Global) business landscape. The team are responsible for a wide range of activities spanning the project execution spectrum, ranging from:

  • Mapping client requirements
  • Participating in the solution identification and elaboration,  through business process analysis
  • Identifying the right location to set-up a VAC that suits the applicants, the consular post and VFS Global staff while ensuring compliance to local laws and cultural sensitivities
  • Conducting a thorough test of the application and deploying the solution at the site 
  • Identifying suitable vendors and solution partners to provide support to on-going business operations
  • Training Operations users first time on any new solution and handholding Operations for a limited period till cutover to regular BAU operations
  • Overall maintenance of quality parameters

Scale of Project Management Office’s (PMO) Implementations

 


Experienced resources have handled a variety of projects ranging from setting up single office for a business to launching a business for a new client government across multiple geographies, with sometimes over 40 sites as part of the programme.  Besides, the team is very well experienced in rolling out new businesses and offices across a wide swath of geographies – all the way from Bolivia in Latin America to Philippines in South East Asia. 

To put the effort in perspective, the Projects team has accumulated about 110 person-years (or 1320 person-months) equivalent of experience in rolling out more than 300 offices in about 40 countries, with over 20 major solutions and software applications, many in complex business environments and geographies, in the last five years.

While some of these projects have been delivered successfully in as little time as four weeks, some of the larger programmes and engagements have been delivered successfully over an 18 month period due to the complex nature of the solution and delivery.

Structure – Management Cell of PPM

 

With certifications like PMP and Prince 2 to back their skills and expertise gained from project executions, the PPM personnel are not only adapt in translating theory into practice for successful implementations but also seek to build upon the knowledge base of the Group continuously. PPM is proficiently structured so that the optimal utilisation of the knowledge and expertise is available at VFS Global’s disposal. The PPM is responsible for monitoring and controlling all project activities including the standard metrics around schedule, cost, scope, quality and resources.

The execution of projects is carried out by a virtual pool of resources in a decentralised manner ensuring speedy implementations, yet delivering uniform quality. The wisdom and experience gained while project implementation in one region is successfully transferred to other regions seamlessly. This ensures that the learning curve is shortened. PPM employs additional tools such as the Microsoft Office Project 2007 or later version of the software, an enterprise wide EPM (Enterprise Project Management software) Tool, Visio and other Microsoft Office products.

All new projects are meticulously planned and divided into five major phases:

  • Initiation of a project – typically a document known as the Project Initiation Document (PID) is generated. This is further divided into phases which detail the requirement specifications and business/operation process analysis.
  • Project planning – typical outputs are a Microsoft Project Plan (MPP), which may be shared with external clients also, and an EPM Dashboard, which is run on the EPM infrastructure for VFS Global’ s internal consumption.
  • Execution – the implementation is guided by the Project Plan which is flexible enough to accommodate any changes. The progress is tracked on the EPM on a daily and weekly status basis. Multiple teams may be roped in by the Projects personnel to deliver specific tasks.
  • Project monitoring and control - is overseen by the Lead Project Manager who uses the tools mentioned earlier and also is in close touch with internal stakeholders. The lead may sometimes also publish status and interact with clients.
  • Project closure – Handover to Business As Usual (BAU) is accomplished typically after 15 days of successful launch of the Project. During this Project phase, PPM takes up the responsibility for all Operations and often trains new Operations personnel in running the Service delivery. With the exit, formal feedback in the format of Voice of Transition (VOT) and Voice of Mission (VOM) forms are collected which are used to improve the PPM services. Also, the handover comprises detailed documentation provided to Operations on Support Contact channels, Support Escalation charts, a few tips on operating procedures, training manuals, etc.

The PPM team operates with two “cells” which are structured according to expertise required during implementations.

Programme and Project Management Cell



The ‘Global Project Management Cell’ assists project managers (execution team) and teams by organising project data, providing statistical information to all stakeholders (internal and external), controlling budgets and schedule, and ensuring compliance to VFS Global policies and procedures. This sub-unit of the team manages the project initiation, planning and monitoring, and control phases of all new projects and is the largest and heaviest user of the MPP and the EPM tools. Another part of this sub-unit is responsible for co-ordination of website deployment including first time content management.  The content and site map are prepared by the team, which then obtains approvals from the client and internal stakeholders, before sending it to the Corporate Communications team of VFS Global for website development. The entire activity is project managed by this unit.

A third part of this unit comprises business process analysts who specialise in process design and requirements elaboration. These specialists not only provide in-depth functional knowledge of the applications and business processes, but are also able to translate the requirements into functional specifications that the IT team can use to develop applications. This team also charts the various flows and scenarios in a given process using flow-chart techniques such as cross functional process flow design and tools such as MS Visio.  Due to the fact that this team is involved in the solution-development exercise at very early stage of the project and also considering its functional knowledge, the team is also responsible for carrying out testing activities on the developed solution before delivering to UAT. The testing is carried out on functional dimensions and may sometimes involve GUI (Graphical User Interface) testing, besides integration testing.  Information Security testing and Performance & Load testing are however out-of-scope for this team.

Project Execution Cell

This cell comprises experienced project managers who may travel onsite to implement various solutions including setting up of offices, recruiting and training personnel and procurement.  Sometimes, the Project Execution cell may draw upon experienced Operations personnel in the given region rather than sending its own resources on-site. While these Operations personnel execute the project and are responsible for all physical deliverables; all guidance, monitoring and control are exercised by the Project Execution cell. Hence, a virtual pool of resources is then made available which also leverages the presence of personnel across multiple time zones and other colleagues from enabling units such as IT, Info Services, Finance, HR, etc.

This cell retains overall control of the project and is responsible for updating both internal and external stakeholders through regular status briefings and also co-ordinates with other PMO cells to produce a 360 degree view of the project. Again, this team employs MPP and EPM extensively for managing its projects portfolio.

Benefits of Project Management Services to VFS Global’s clients

 

 

  • PMO continuously enhances the company’s business capability through the projects (services/solutions) that it rolls out for customers. Hence, it builds up the knowledge base and IP for the organisation which are then used to deliver superior solutions swiftly for its clients in a continuous manner. The clients experience this superior quality during implementations, as borne out by several excellent testimonials and feedback provided by clients.
  • Through its expertise that is continuously challenged to deliver better solutions, PMO is able to analyse different business processes and provides value to clients due to its knowledge of optimisation opportunities and effort to seek efficiencies.
  • In several new territories, PMO takes over the overheads of identifying and screening new vendors and third-party arrangements, often freeing the Operations team to focus on service delivery.
  • By virtue of its structure and its ability to utilise a virtual pool of resources, PMO is able to scale up both – vertically and horizontally – to manage complex assignments across time zones.
  • Project performance reporting and dashboards – customised to meet client requirements – are made available at regular intervals; thanks to the rigour built up in the team!
Testimonials

Hugh Keachie
Customer Service Excellence Standard Assessor at Centre for Assessment (CFA) in Manchester, UK

Tony Atkins
UKVI Entry Clearance Manager, Bogota


Latest News

Residents with registered wills to receive free verification services - DIFC Wills & Probate Registry signs partnership with VFS Global
Gulf News, November 2017

Certifications